Are you a Martha or a Mary?

In the gospel reading today we find ourselves with Jesus, Martha, and Mary…

Holy Gospel of Jesus Christ according to Saint Luke 10,38-42.

As they continued their journey he entered a village where a woman whose name was Martha welcomed him.
She had a sister named Mary (who) sat beside the Lord at his feet listening to him speak.
Martha, burdened with much serving, came to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me by myself to do the serving? Tell her to help me.”
The Lord said to her in reply, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and worried about many things.
There is need of only one thing. Mary has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her.”

I think at times, I am continually busy with all the “to do’s” in a home. I think that it really doesn’t stop, especially with littles all about the house. If you or I were to make a running list of all that we need to do, want to do, and should do, we wouldn’t be here reading this, we’d still be writing. My mind is always thinking of the next task and sort like the favorite book, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, a mom sees one thing, which leads to another and another.

Sort of like,

“If you go for your morning cup of coffee, you are going to see crumbs that need to be wiped off the counter. You go to wipe the crumbs off the counter, and see that the floor needs to be swept. You go to your laundry room to get the broom and you remember that the laundry needs to be switched. You take out the dry clothes and carry them upstairs to fold. Upon entering your room, you find your two year old has emptied a complete box of kleenexes ( what fun!) all over the floor…”

You see where this is going? Where does it stop? It can, if we just stop and let ourselves listen. As Fr John ( a visiting priest) this morning said ( or asked) when have you actually stopped to really listen to your spouse. “I mean really listen?” “When have you stopped to listen to your children” “Have you done all of the talking and not much of the listening?” I think I am guilty of being a lot of Martha, and not as much Mary as I should. There is a time and a place for things to be done, but as Jesus himself reminded us, “Mary has chosen the better.”

This week I ask for your prayers that I will take more time for my family. I will listen to their needs. I will stop wiping and sweeping to listen to “how this laser or tank or fishing pole was made out of tinkertoys.” I will take more time to let the children listen to me read more lovable stories instead of saying… ” in a minute” or “not now, how about in a little while”

St.’s Martha and Mary, pray for us.

3 thoughts on “Are you a Martha or a Mary?

  1. I need to do that too. That to-do list could take over our lives if we let it. Our children are not young forever, we need to enjoy this time with them and not always put off that book or that game or whatever. Thanks so much for reminding me! Plus I didn’t hear his homily very well, I was out nursing the baby LOL

Leave a Reply

