In High School, I was in a “pageant” that included a “talent” portion. I have always loved to sing and chose to sing a song I fell in love with the minute I heard it. The Via Dolorosa was a song I heard the in the talent part the year before. Having never had Spanish, I sat with a friend who helped me pronounce and sing the verses correctly. It alternated English and Spanish and spoke of Our Lord on his way to be crucified.

The Passion of Christ, follows the Stations of the Cross. The fourteenth and last station, the Burial, is not prominently depicted (compared to the other thirteen) but it is implied since the last shot before credit titles is Jesus resurrected and about to leave the tomb.Upon entering a Catholic Church, you will notice 14 pictures or plaques hung around the church. These are the Stations of the Cross. Catholics gather regularly on Fridays during Lent to pray and focus on what Christ did for His People.

The Stations of the Cross (or Way of the Cross; in Latin, Via Crucis; also called the Via Dolorosa or Way of Sorrows, or simply, The Way) refers to the depiction of the final hours (or Passion) of Jesus, and the devotion commemorating the Passion.

The object of the Stations is to help the faithful to make a spiritual pilgrimage of prayer, through meditating upon the chief scenes of Christ’s sufferings and death. It has become one of the most popular devotions for Roman Catholics, as well as the devotion of many others.

The Stations themselves are usually a series of 14 pictures or sculptures depicting the following scenes:

  1. Jesus is condemned to death
  2. Jesus receives the cross
  3. Jesus falls the first time
  4. Jesus meets His Mother
  5. Simon of Cyrene carries the cross
  6. Veronica wipes Jesus’ face with her veil
  7. Jesus falls the second time
  8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
  9. Jesus falls the third time
  10. Jesus is stripped of His garments
  11. Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross
  12. Jesus dies on the cross
  13. Jesus’ body is removed from the cross (Pieta)
  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb

Before every station we pray,

“We adore you, O Christ, and we bless you,
because by your holy cross,
you have redeemed the world.”

Thank you to Ruth, for the Stations of the Cross print outs!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s