Happy Mother’s Day

Wishing each of you a blessed day!

My morning started with an early rise at 6:30 to go to 7:30 Mass. Cookie woke the children and dressed the baby. By the time I was ready, everyone was ready for me to  brush and fix hair. All the children wore red for the Celebration  of one of the Glorious mysteries, The Descent of the Holy Spirit, and I wore, much to my children’s amazement, a blue dress, yes, IRL friends, I wore a dress! It was a lovely dress I wore at our son’s baptism, but does show off the growing tummy.

As we were gathering our things for the car, I overheard the children all gathering money from their money jars for us to go to the grocery store after Mass so they could buy me chocolate covered strawberries. ( So sweet!) Yes, I inherited my mother’s ability to tear up at the drop of a hat..and they continued in Mass with the sweet words from Fr Richard.

Dh left on TDY so the children were taking over in making my day special. I am a lucky mother. My children are such a blessing to me, as is my husband whom I have known since 1991. Thank you to my mother and John’s mom for saying yes to having us so many years ago, and thank you to my husband for saying yes to God for all of our children. We have two waiting for us in Heaven, and one more Snowbaby waiting to meet us in November.

I have an ultrasound on Wednesday this week and have high hopes to find and see the heartbeat. I am now a mother of eight. Never did I ever imagine how having children would change me. Being a mother is such a delight…they keep you young!!.  My Grandmothers are both still alive and I wish them many happy days and health. To my mother and John’s Mother, I wish you years of joy and happiness shared with your children and grandchildren. ( I know my Mother in Law is filled with joy this weekend as her youngest, John’s brother graduated college yesterday, Congrats Jordan!)

To Our  Lord’s grandmother, Anne, we thank you for having Mary, who was the handmaid of the Lord, and for Mary’s Fiat!

My Dear sweet husband surprised me before he left with a new digital camera since as you know, my other one died. Now I have lots to read to know how to work it. I am tickled with it as it has a zoom lens! Ask anyone, I love pictures!!!

The rest of our day, the children plan to make dinner for me ( I think pancakes are in order) and they are making cupcakes with halved strawberries for dessert. Cupcakes for the birthday of our Church and strawberries to represent  the Holy Spirit ( tongues of fire) I’ll try to take a picture with my new camera and post  later. Thank you Meredith for the inspiration from Sweetness and Light.

Come, Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of Thy faithful and enkindle in them the fire of Thy love.

V. Send forth Thy Spirit and they shall be created.
R. And Thou shalt renew the face of the earth.

Let us pray. O God, Who didst instruct the hearts of the faithful by the light of the Holy Spirit, grant us in the same Spirit to be truly wise, and ever to rejoice in His consolation. Through Christ our Lord.

Amen.

5 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

Leave a comment