Our baby boy needing a miracle…

dsc_0223
dsc_0224
** Today I am filled with emotions… God has asked us again to go through many trials with this little baby boy…Our little baby has a heart defect in the right atrium that most likely the prognosis is fatal at some point due to heart failure. The right atrium is enlarged causing the heart to work harder and blood is not going through the valve with ease ( she said the valve is almost sticking causing blood back up) Right now the baby’s heart is flowing across to the Left side which is normal and she said it is doing it without any turbulence. Also, she said that the baby is more than likely has down syndrome based on measurements in the baby’s fingers (she specifically said the pinky finger) She said an amnio would answer that and I said “no, the baby is Who God sent to us, I don’t need to confirm that.” More than likely, without a miracle, this baby will live for a while longer then have heart failure. IF I make it further along, I may be referred to a Prenatal Cardiologist to talk about options of helping this little guy,.
dsc_0225
This picture shows the enlarged heart. The face is on the left and the abdomen is in the middle. The heart is the dark circle in the middle.
I am still hopeful, the baby seemed stronger than the others and even measured a week further along. this is God’s baby and God chose John and Me to be this little baby’s parents. I am asking you to pray for a miracle for this little boy’s heart. I think right now, this HAS to come from above. Even the Dr was crying with the news. She and the Tech hugged me as I stood up from the table. My two friends were able to be in the room with me for the ultrasound and I came home with some beautiful pictures. When the Dr came in though, they had to step out.
Please ask God for HIs Will for this baby and for John and Me to be covered in grace throughout this time. Thank you for your continued prayers. We go back in for a second Level II U/S on May 8.

46 thoughts on “Our baby boy needing a miracle…

  1. Dear Emily,

    He’s a lovely Snow baby – what a dear, sweet face. I’m praying that his heart continues to sustain him. Praying for peace and strength for you my dear sister in Christ.

  2. Praying for you Emily and your beautiful little boy! What a blessing you are to us all! May God comfort your heart during this difficult time of waiting! and heal your little ones heart!

  3. Our family is praying very hard for you!!! Our 5th baby was born with a serious heart defect. He receieved a heart transplant at 3 1/2 months old and is now a healthy, happy 1 1/2 year old! Miracles happen – all things are possible through God!!

    Love, Gina Schiltz and Family

  4. Oh Emily, I am so sorry. I just logged on to read. I am so sorry to hear about the heart defect. Your positive attitude is inspirational. We have been and will continue to pray for you and the baby every night. It’s exciting to say that we can start praying for a baby boy now! Hugs to all of you.

  5. Emily,
    I will pray for you, your baby boy, and the whole family.
    My daughter with DS, a complete AV canal disorder and enlarged heart just turned 18 years old last month. She has taught me so much, and I will pray that you will have the opportunity to experience the same with your little one.
    God bless you!

  6. Your baby boy is beautiful. Thank you for sharing him with us.

    I am praying for you family. I lost my first daughter at birth to a disease called anencephaly, so I very much understand your grief and worry. Big prayers for you, your baby, and your entire beautiful family.

  7. Em, what a beautiful baby boy, a precious child! We will be praying for his sweet heart to be healed and for Our dear Blessed Mother to hold all of you in her arms. You have a wonderful trust in Our Lord. May God grant your miracle!

  8. I so feel for you. My youngest daughter was diagnosed with major heart defects and I was told she most likely had a genetic disorder if not Downs Syndrome. I too refused amniocentesis. She did survive, had no genetic disorder and had surgery when three days old and is now a very healthy 8 year old.

    I will pray for you and your beautiful little son.

  9. I found you through Waltzing Matilda’s blog. I will be praying for God to work a miracle. God Bless you and your precious little one.

  10. I know God led me to your site…There are no coincidences when we ask Him to lead us….I will share your trial with my prayer ministry ..so please know many will be lifting your precious little boy up for healing..also for you as parents …Asking for peace of mind and heart and trust in our dear Lord’s perfect and loving heart…

    Jesus we trust in You…Amen

  11. I will be praying for your dear little boy and for you of course. Today i have put a prayer request on my blog, for your son…becomewhatyouare left a comment on my blog mentioning your dear son, this is how i came to know about him.

    God Bless you!

  12. This is my first visit to your lovely blog. I wanted to say that I will add your precious baby to our prayers. I am so sorry that you are going through this. I am 21 1/2 weeks pregnant with my third child, and next week we will be having the big ultrasound. I know I will be thinking of you that day especially. I pray that your little man will be healed!

  13. Please know that our family will be praying for your precious baby boy. Our daughter was also given a fatal diagnosis of a heart defect and chromosonal disorder and was born on Our Lady’s Birthday in 05. Her web-site is old, but you may find somethings on there helpful; http://www.ourlittlegemma.com. Sent with a prayer for healing and hope.

  14. We are praying for your little boy. Our oldest was born with many structural heart defects and we were told he would never survive. We have been very blessed to have him for 11yrs now, but prognosis is still uncertain in the long run. We are just so very greatful to have had him for this long. We know the struggles you are going through and we will keep you in our daily prayers.

  15. I will ask my prayer group to pray for your little one, Emily. Listen to hope, not to the doctors’ prognosis. A very senior and highly respected doctor told me on Christmas Eve in 1980 that the prognosis for my youngest son who was barely a year old at the time was “days, weeks if you are lucky.” Well, we got those days, and we got those weeks. Doah will celebrate his 30th birthday in November! He did have 18 birth defects, including severe mental retardation, and we have learned to live with these challenges and work around them. He is happy, independent, and employed. God took a bad situation and made it good. My friends and I will pray that God will do the same for you and your baby. Most important: rejoice! There is a new life that you will get to meet in a few months!

Leave a Reply

