25 weeks … keep praying for a miracle…

Today I was seen for a follow up Level II ultrasound. Matthew was kicking around and measured still a week ahead.. at 26 weeks. Little Matthew’s heart is so enlarged. The Dr. said after measuring that it is taking up more than 50% of his chest cavity… which is bad for the lungs, they will not have enough room to expand fully when he tries to take his first breaths. They did say there is medicine the Dr’s can give to help.. the extent of that, I do not know. Here is one photo of Matthew’s face front view and upper chest. Notice his eyes look like he has on sunglasses below his face you’ll see a BIG BLACK CIRCLE.. that is his right Atruim ( alone) not showing in this picture are the other chambers. This makes me teary just to see how big it is.DSC_0438
The good news I got was that his heart was still beating strong.. 133… and that he is a healthy little fella.. at 2lbs 1-2 ozs….I was tickled to hear that fearing how tiny he will be if he is delivered early. We tried to get a 3-D picture.. here is a sweet little face in 3D DSC_0437
Next week we are driving back to San Antonio to see the Pediatric Cardiologist. I am sure they will compare their notes from the previous visit. After 26 weeks, the Doctors in town are planning to monitor Matthew’s growth weekly. If he appears to be going downhill, they will send me immediately to San Antonio to take the baby to try to intervene.
Dh is on TDY, so a dear friend who works in the hospital and worked with the NICU and heart surgeries with newborns was able to be there to hold my hand. It was nice to have her there to help me understand what all the Dr said. One last picture is a profile picture. Matthew’s face is pointed up and you can see his forehead, nose, and lips and chin. Below that ( on the left side of this pic) is the heart again appearing like a big black circle.
DSC_0439
I can’t thank you enough for your prayers for Matthew. Thank you to everyone who has added him to your prayer lists and your blog buttons. I am so thankful for the intercessory prayers being said on Matthew’s behalf. God is the creator of Life. He knows His most perfect plan for Matthew and for us as a family and what we can handle. Our children are overjoyed with every kick Matthew makes under their little hands on my tummy. John and I treasure each kick and thank God for Matthew.
We love you too Matthew!DSC_0441

20 thoughts on “25 weeks … keep praying for a miracle…

  1. I have been thinking about you and Matthew today and will continue to offer up many prayers and sacrifices for his healing. I’ll call you soon.

  2. OML! Em, look at the third u/s picture: it looks like two big hands holding him up, one under his head and the other under his back. He sure is a Snowbaby.

    You are in my thoughts all the time, and we are praying for you. Miss you friend!

  3. Always prayers are ascending here for you Emily. I was thinking of you the other day and wondering when you would post an update. Please if you need anything don’t hesitate to call…you helped me with my baby daughter and now it’s time for me to return the favor. Take care…hugs and prayers from our family to yours…

  4. Oh, Em! Your post and pictures were so touching! Thanks so much for the update. We’ll continue to pray for Matthew and your dear family.

  5. Praying for that precious, beautiful little boy! I love his 3-D pic–what a handsome little guy! I know that he must feel all of our love and prayers, and I know he is a fighter.

    God Bless

    Lara Martinez

  6. We are praying always for dear little Matthew, and all of you, too. Thanks be to God he is growing well–what a strong spirit he has already. Must get that from his sweet mother! Our Lady, Help of Christians, pray for Matthew.

  7. I am praying for a miracle and believing that God will deliver one! All things are possible with God 🙂 May your sweet little Matthew be a testimony to the power and grace of God. God bless you and your family! xox

    Myah

  8. I’m not on 4real much anymore but wanted to let you know Matthew remains in our daily prayers. what an adorable little face. He’s really getting big! Praying for his Drs and for you in the coming weeks.
    much love,
    lisa in IL

  9. Hi Emily,

    I was just checking my webstats and had a link from your page. I see you’re expecting! How wonderful. I will pray for your Matthew that God gives you a miracle and heals his little heart. Chip and I are expecting in October, so it looks like Im about 6 weeks behind you. Enjoy your beautiful family, I hope your husband is home safe and sound and each day is a joy.

    Melissa

Leave a Reply

