A new jumper!


I made a new little dress for my niece, Anna, who just “needed” a new dress! I tried tucks for the first time and realized I actually sewed them wrong. I need to work on that. But, I really was becoming impatient with so much school work.. 8th grade English, Math, 5th grade diagramming.. grading.. etc… waiting to try out my new birthday presents!

While we were away in September, I celebrated my birthday with family and received many sweet and thoughtful gifts. One was a new self-recovering board! I tried one at a friend’s house and loved it! My children shopped with Nana who remembered me eyeing it and so, now I can cut with hopefully more precise measurements. The roller cutter is fun to use too!
I made the dress with snaps on the shoulders so that her mom can change out the seasonal look to a fun girlie look with hot pink ribbons. I know Anna will look adorable in it… hoping her mom will take pictures!

I was delighted to open a package from BessieMary yesterday which was filled with sewing goodies! I needed new pleater needles, smocking Darner needles, fabric for M&M’s Christmas dress, and of course another cute dress for Anna. I ordered her mom and dad’s college alma mater colors to make her a Children’s Corner “Lucy” jumper using Royal Broadcloth and adorable orange gingham for the liner!

I am planning on putting orange ribbons on the shoulders and a small ruffle on the bottom using the orange liner. I think it’ll be cute. I hope to start it soon! I’ll post pictures when I am finished. Thank you Jan, for the wonderful help you gave me with this order!

3 thoughts on “A new jumper!

  1. Yes Cheryl, it is like Christmas. Jan packages everything so sweetly! thank you for the birthday wishes! I am looking forward to sewing a Christmas dress too. I plan on smocking a bishop in red with white thread from Jan. I may call on your help with the neckband…:)

Leave a Reply

