feeling behind… are you?

Oh my goodness… A while back, my sister told me over an afternoon phone call I had to check out Pinterest…..
“Pinterest. pinterest”.. try to remember that I told myself… I was doing well to remember to get my son to Karate on the right day at the right time, we were out of milk, and I needed to pay a bill… Oh and then, tomorrow was a feast day… I am certain its a biggy… And then there are these beautiful blogs.. so pretty. I could look for hours at their knowledge and insight to homechooling many ages.
School? Do I do enough hands on? How about science experiments? generally when we are at the store is when I hear, “oh and mom, I need such and such.. for a science project….” I go to other homeschool blogs to see they are keeping up with all of the school activities, crafts, feasts, twitters, facebook pages, and now Pinterest!
Where have I been? I am happy to upload my camera an post a picture or two. I’d LOVE to know how to navigate through pinterest.. Looks so fun, but I honestly feel like cheating and just pursuing what other fellow friends have pinned.
Later, when I find time to click on a blog or two, I see beautiful crafts, snacks, and handmade items. Is it just me, or am I treading water trying to make it until the buzzer goes off? I seem to linger on and take days to purchase, wash, and iron new fabric for a new sewing craft, meanwhile, the high schooler needs another math test, a sixth grader needs a book report edited, and a five year old wants to go out and try out her new skates.
Did I say that I just got Christmas taken down off of the cabinets in the kitchen today?
Sometimes, I am so relieved that others have done the legwork and gone ahead to pin that adorable celery Valentine’s craft and blogged about a new must have book… Saves me having to feel so alone trying to do it on my own. One day I think, Maybe I’ll be that organized. I want to thank all of my blog friends, thank you for your dedication to making your blogs so rich and filled with helpful information and inspiration.

8 thoughts on “feeling behind… are you?

  1. Oh my goodness, I can’t even look at Pinterest. I would be absorbed and get nothing done! I go through phases of doing a lot and doing nothing, barely keeping up. Our Nativity set is still up… And here’s Lent, in less than 2 weeks!

  2. Emily, there are days when I feel like I’m moving in reverse instead of forward! I don’t have time for Pinterest right now either. I do, however, take excellent care of a well-fed, fattish, darling baby boy who loves my attention. 🙂

  3. Don’t you forget for one minute dear friend that you’ve been “keeping up” more than gracefully minus John. And that is HUGE. ENORMOUS! So you just keep on looking at pins and blogs (as long as it isn’t overwhelming) and using whatever is there as a help to you. Consider it our way of giving back to you for the sacrifice you and your family have made for US!!!

    Many, many hugs!!!! We are praying him home and can’t wait to see THOSE pics on your blog!

  4. I know exactly how you feel! I have so many projects, big and small, that I need to get done. So many daily household things I’m behind on. I know that one day I’ll get to it all, or it won’t matter any more 🙂 I haven’t touched Pinterest either, so don’t feel bad 🙂 I echo what Jen says too!

  5. You are clearly not alone, and I love hearing that I am not either! I tell the kids, and I try to believe this myself- we are exactly where we are supposed to be as long as we keep pursuing God and his will. I am growing more and more cofortable with who I am and who I am not, and pinterest I am not. I try to spend as little time on the computer as possible- leaves to many open doors for the enemy to creep in and make me feel like less of a success. I think you are wonderful, and I know you are full of love for the Lord and your family. You are doing awesome in my book. Blessings to you.

  6. Haha, I think we all feel behind…especially when my google reader says: 281. 281 posts! Are you kidding me? There’s no way I can read all those. So I just browse. I read the ones from my friends in real life first. =) Then I just don’t worry about all the lovely information out there. One day, when I need it, I will google it and it’ll still be there. =) As far as homeschooling goes…I’m pretty sure I’m about as Unschooly as they get. I always worry that we’re not doing enough. But hey, there’s a ton of snow out and we had to go sledding…what goes down the hill…must walk up? Isn’t that science? Haha. =)

  7. ditto…ditto…and ditto!
    Some days I feel like my head is barely above the water!
    Remember you are doing the job of 2 right now, pinterest probably isn’t going anywhere, it will be there when you are ready…coming, of course, from someone who has never been there : )

Leave a Reply

