10 weeks to go!

I can’t believe how quickly the time is going. I’ve had the itch to sew all of the baby’s bedding and get it all ready. I keep thinking it’s going to be here before I know it and I still need to finish up most of the school year with the children before we adjust with a newborn. My husband bought me beautiful fabric for my birthday anticipating I would sew dresses, but after we found out this little person was a boy, I searched through and found some fabric he ordered from BessieMary before she closed to use in his bedding. I paired the blue check fabric (which feels like butter to sew with) with a sage pinstripe, chocolate corduroy, and green “minky dot.” I don’t actually know the correct fabric name for this super soft fabric, but we loved it so much when I used the cream version last year on our nephew’s bedding, we decided to use it again. It is just such a baby fabric! My parents bought us a crib in a coffee color, but we are waiting to set everything up. I’ll post it all put together later on, for now, I’ll share a sneak peek at what I’ve done. Here is the quilt, similar to the one I made for my sister’s baby last year.
photo 1-1
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Here is the reverse side of the quilt, which I think all of my family wishes I’d make them one to cuddle up with!

photo 3-1
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Here is the diaper stacker that will eventually have an initial or monogram on the brown corduroy in cream, after we settle for sure on his name. 🙂

photo 2-1
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My husband and I loved the feel of the minky dot so much, we decided to make the little guy a blanket that wasn’t thick like a quilt. It started out with us deciding we’d pick out a flannel for the opposite side. After running into already sewn quilt fabric and loving how it seemed to match, we decided to skip the flannel and go for the quilt fabric… after all, the hard work of cutting out those squares again was already done for me!

photo 4
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
For the bedskirt, I wanted to try to use what was in the quilt, but tie it together somehow. My son suggested to line the bottom with the brown. I love how it turned out and can’t wait to put it all together on the crib. For the bumper, I cheated… I wanted the minky dot, but decided to order one rather than try to sew with it. I seems to like to slip under the foot press and not do so well (for me.) I ordered one, but the color wasn’t quite right. I found this “velour” stripe at the local baby store and cut off the ties. It’s not pictured here, but I sewed the sage pinstripe fabric into one and half foot ties and sewed them back onto the appropriate spots.

photo 5

Not pictured yet, I did make several burp cloths using various scrapes of fabric. I was hoping to embroider them before posting them. I thought I’d put “little brother, ” and his monogram on them before I share them.
SNOWEMILY20130207105933828
SNOWEMILY20130207111048220

8 thoughts on “10 weeks to go!

  1. Ooooh,delicious fabric choices!

    I know exactly the fabric you are talking about when you say “minky dot.” So buttery soft…it will be just the thing to snuggle your newborn in.

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful craftsmanship.

  2. So exciting!!! I can’t believe how soon he’ll be here! It is so exciting looking at all the beautiful things you’re making and knowing that it won’t be too long before I can hold him. You need to get on Amazon and make a wishlist of things that you’d like! 🙂 Miss you all! xoxo, MS Snows

  3. I love it all!

    A hint for sewing with the minky dot. Use tissue paper underneath then tear away. It stablizes it as it feeds under the presser foot.

Leave a Reply

